The Diapason Press

General Series

Johann David Heinichen
Georg Andreas Sorge
Johann Philipp Kirnberger

for keyboard

edited by Rudolf Rasch

DP 1

harpsichord (organ, clavichord, forte piano)

Three pieces have been collected that share the feature of modulations through all 24 major and minor keys, beginning and ending with A minor. Such pieces were called musical circles in the 18th century. They are suitable for harpsichord, clavichord, or organ; Kirnberger’s piece can also be played on the pianoforte. This was the first publication of the Diapason Press.

ISBN 90-70907-01-1 (paper)
1 score (16 pp.)
21 x 30 cm
€9 or US$9


Introduction by Rudolf Rasch 3
Johann David Heinichen: Un poco allegro, mà cantabile 4
Georg Andreas Sorge: Toccata per omnem circulum 7
Johann Philipp Kirnberger: Musicalischer Circul 13